

## Committee on Foreign Affairs

**Delegation,** visit to The Hague 12–14 April 2015





The Swedish Parliament • Postal address: Sveriges riksdag, SE-100 12 Stockholm Telephone: +46 8 786 40 00 • Website: www.riksdagen.se



2 | Committee on Foreign Affairs Committee on Foreign Affairs | 3

## The Committee on Foreign Affairs

The Riksdag is Sweden's principal decision-making body, and its 349 MPs are elected every four years in general elections. In the current term of office (2014–2018), the MPs represent eight political parties.

The Riksdag operates a system of mandatory preparation of parliamentary business. Consequently all items of business must be considered in a committee before the Riksdag can take a decision. The committees present proposals for decisions by the Riksdag on which all 349 of the members may take a position. In most cases the members adopt the committee's proposal when a decision is taken in the Chamber.

During the current term of office, each committee comprises 17 members and at least as many deputy members. In principle, the political parties are represented in the committees in accordance with the extent of their representation in the Riksdag.

The Committee on Foreign Affairs has the following areas of responsibility:

- Relations and Agreements of the Realm with other states and with international organisations;
- International Development cooperation;
- Other foreign trade and international economic cooperation;
- Matters concerning appropriations falling within the areas of International cooperation and International Development Cooperation

The tasks of the Committee on Foreign Affairs are twofold as concerns the European Union.

Firstly, the Committee is responsible for the Riksdag's preparation of issues pertaining to the EU as a whole. Consequently the Committee on Foreign Affairs prepares bills concerning the admission of new member states to the EU, treaty amendments and the Government's annual communication on activities in the EU. This work is carried out in consultation with other committees concerned and with the Committee on EU Affairs. Secondly, in its capacity as a regular parliamentary committee, the Committee on Foreign Affairs monitors EU issues within its areas of responsibility. These include the Common Foreign and Security Policy (CFSP), the Common Security and Defence Policy (CSDP), partnership and association agreements with third countries and EU development cooperation with third world countries and Eastern Europe.

## Members of the delegation from the Committee on Foreign Affairs



Kenneth G Forslund Social Democratic Party Chairman of the Committee



**Julia Kronlid** Sweden Democrats



Margareta Cederfelt Moderate Party



Pyry Niemi Social Democratic Party



Sofia Damm (KD) Christian Democrats



Krister Örnfjäder Social Democratic Party

## From the Secretariat



Britt-Marie Hartvig Committee Secretary